Homer Alaska - Schools

Story last updated at 12:41 PM on Wednesday, October 26, 2011

DDF scores big in tournament

At its first tournament of the season, the Homer High School DDF — Drama, Debate and Forensics — team did itself, Head Coach Amy Christianson and the school proud.

"The students did very well, both in being prepared and representing Homer High with dignity and appropriate behavior," said Christianson. "As you can see, we had a very successful tournament."

Homer's team was comprised of 19 students, with almost all of them winning awards, said Christianson. For eight members of the team it was their first tournament.

DDF is a statewide extracurricular activity designed to encourage interscholastic debate, oratory, public speaking and interpretation of literature, as well as building confidence, and public speaking and leadership skills.

The team holds debate practice on Mondays, 3:30-5:30 and full-team practice on Wednesdays.

The next scheduled competition is at Eagle River High School, Nov. 11-12.

Competing at South Anchorage High School, results for Homer were:


Traven Apiki: first place, Novice Lincoln-Douglas Debate (meaning that it was all first-timers in debate);

Trevor Waldorf: first place, Lincoln-Douglas Debate;

Adi Davis: third place, Lincoln-Douglas Debate.


Jacob Mayforth: first place, original oratory;

Neal Wimmerstedt: fourth place, expository speaking;

Sydney Paulino: fifth place, extemporaneous commentary;

Trevor Waldorf: first place, foreign extemporaneous speaking;

Theo Noomah: second place, foreign extemporaneous speaking;

Adi Davis: third place, foreign extemporaneous speaking;

Trevor Waldorf: fifth place, congressional debate.


Adella Sundmark and Traven Apiki: third place, pantomime;

Axel Gillam, Johnny Hamilton, Herman Hannan, Sydney Paulino, Brittney Bordner, Emmet Meyer: fourth place, readers theatre;

Jacob Mayforth and Herman Hannan: first place, duet acting;

Sydney Paulino and Adi Davis: fifth place, duet acting;

Jonas Noomah and Evan Boyer: second place, duo interpretation;

Matt Jasper: fifth place, dramatic interpretation;

Theo Noomah: first place, humorous interpretation;

Emmet Meyer: third place, humorous interpretation.

Overall Sweepstakes

Third place, overall debate sweepstakes (all debate points together);

First place, overall non-debate sweepstakes (all non-debate events together);

Second place, overall sweepstakes.