Story last updated at 4:05 p.m. Thursday, October 24, 2002

News Briefs
Students earn all-state honors

Homer High School choral director Mark Robinson and instrumental director Bill Searle have announced that 25 student musicians have earned all-state honors for band and choir.

Collin Hemphill, who had the highest ranking tape of all Tenor II hopefuls, has been designated "first chair."

He will be joined in the all-state choir by classmates Candi Fidino, Lynn Bechtol, Sierra Smith, Katelyn Wythe, Christina Purisiol, Rose Sinnhuber, Stacey Bowden, Hannah Fennell, Sarah Ragland, Heather Strutz, Tarah Hargrove, Lucas Fennell, James Grace, Devion Hagen, Llosh Winne, Lance Leavitt, Marcus Kuhns and first alternate Lindsey Kaufman.

Alto saxophonist Andrew Vait also submitted the highest rated audition tape and earned first chair honors among instrumentalists.

He will be joined by Savanna Bradley, Holly McCune, Lauren Migdal and alternates Jared Szajkowski and Adrian Raymond.

"We are very proud of these students and their accomplishment," Robinson said. "They are a great representation of our school and community."

The students from Homer will join high school musicians from around the state for the annual all-state concert on Nov. 23 at West Anchorage High School.

Homer man gets weather award

Allan B. Crawford of Homer recently received one of the National Weather Service's most prestigious awards for observing and reporting weather in Alaska for more than 25 years.

The John Campanius Holm Award was presented to Crawford at Land's End on Oct. 17, one of 27 presented nationally this year.

Richard Przywarty, director of the NWS Alaska Region, presented the award to Crawford.

"We are pleased to recognize Allan Crawford as one of the nation's top cooperative weather observers," said Przywarty. "For over 25 years, his accurate and timely weather reports played a critical role in defining the climate and rainfall patterns of the Kenai Peninsula, and supporting the National Weather Service and warning programs in Southcentral Alaska."

The award is named for a Lutheran minister who is the first person known to have taken systematic weather observations in the American colonies during 1644 and 1645 near the present site of Wilmington, Del.