Homer Alaska - News

Story last updated at 3:56 PM on Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Registration ends July 29 for primary


Voters wishing to register or update information for the Aug. 28 primary election have until July 29 to do so. Forms must be postmarked by the date. Voters can register or update registration online, by fax, by mail and at Division of Motor Vehicle offices.

Online registration forms can be downloaded and filled in with a signature by scanning and sending through email or by fax and mail. Mail completed forms to Region 1 Elections Office, P.O. Box 11-0018, Juneau AK 99811-0018, fax (907) 465-2289 or email electionsr1@alaska.gov. For more information, call (866) 948-8683 or visit www.elections.alaska.gov.

In the Homer area, Republican Party candidates will compete for nominations for Alaska Senate District O and House District 30 seats. In the Senate race, Soldotna Mayor Peter Micciche is challenging incumbent Sen. Tom Wagoner for the nomination; there is no Democratic Party candidate. In House District 30, businessman Jon Faulkner is challenging incumbent Rep. Paul Seaton. The winner will face Democrat Elizabeth Diament in the general election.

Homer had been in Senate District R and House District 35, but with redistricting was moved into Senate District O and House District 30.

Under the Republican Party's closed primary rules, members of other political parties cannot choose the Republican Party with Ballot Measures ballot. To pick the ballot, voters must be registered as Republican Party, nonpartisan or undeclared. Any registered voter can choose the Alaska Democratic Party, Alaska Libertarian Party and Alaskan Independence Party Candidate with Ballot Measures ballot. Voters also can choose the Ballot Measures Only ballot.

Voters also will vote for candidates for U.S. Representative and vote on two ballot measures, Ballot Measure No. 1, "A Bill Increasing the Maximum Residential Property Tax Exemption," and Ballot Measure No. 2, "Establishment of an Alaska Coastal Management Program."

On the ballot for U.S. Representative are Democratic Party members Debra Chesnut, Sharon M. Cissna, Doug Urquidi, Frank J. Vondersaar and Matt Moore. Republican Party members running are John R. Cox, Terre L. Gales and incumbent Rep. Don Young. Jim C. McDermott is the Libertarian Party candidate.