Story last updated at 3:57 p.m. Thursday, May 23, 2002

Student News
Christopher T. Popham will receive June 16 a Bachelor of Science degree in geology from Oregon State University, Corvallis.

Ronna (Hennick) Scanlon will receive a Bachelor of Science in biology from Le Moyne College, Syracuse, N.Y. She maintained a 3.75 grade-point average and plans to work as a microbiologist.

West Homer Elementary School held its sixth-grade promotion ceremony May 20 and presented these awards: Performing Arts Award, Ethan Martin; Alaska History Award and Principal's Award, Hannah Bradley, and Outstanding Student Award, Thorey Munro. The National Association of Elementary Principals and National Association of Secondary School Principals presented the President's Award for Excellence to these students earning a 90 percent or higher during grades fourth-sixth and at least an 85 percent in reading or math on a national test: Hannah Bradley, MacKenzie Callis, Marina Critchett, Anna Duz, Thorey Munro, Emmy Olsen, Skylar Paul, Kalie Petska, Reba Temple, Ethan Martin, Chelsey Neiman, Luke Westerburg and Jessica Jones. The President's Award for Educational Improvement for outstanding educational growth, commitment or intellectual development went to Stephen Bishop, Jennifer Bitterman, Lance Cahoon, Dillon Cooper, Ky Fields, Rebecca Fraiman, Annie Garay, Jorden Greiner, Aaron Lewis, Hunter Multz-Matthews, Whitney Owen, Robin Reed, Samuel Satre, Cindy Tapia, Sachara Transue and Allison Turner.