Homer Alaska - Business

Story last updated at 9:46 PM on Wednesday, May 11, 2011

HEA elects new board members

Morris News Service

Members of Homer Electric Association elected three candidates to the board of directors at the utility's annual meeting last week.

The closest race was between incumbent David Thomas and challenger Kelley Bookey, who beat Thomas, 750 to 673. Bookey will represent members in District 1, which includes Kenai, Niksiki and parts of Kasilof and Soldotna.

The new representative in District 2, which encompasses Soldotna, Sterling and Kasilof, is Dick Waisanen. Waisanen received 1,084 votes and ran unopposed.

Incumbent Mike Wiley kept his seat for District 3, and will continue to represent the South Kasilof and Kachemak Bay areas. He beat challenger Malcolm Gaylord 863 to 615.

According to HEA, about 500 people attended the meeting.

After the annual meeting, the board voted on officer positions for next year. Sterling resident Debbie Debnam will continue to serve as the board's president, while newcomer Dick Waisanen was elected secretary-treasurer. Kenai's Alan Bute will fill the vice president slot and Homer's Jim Levine will be deputy secretary.


  • 3482 Landings St.
  • (907) 235-7767
  •  Fax: (907) 235-6571
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback