Homer Alaska - Business

Story last updated at 10:08 PM on Wednesday, May 4, 2011

HEA's annual meeting set for today in Soldotna

Staff Report

Homer Electric Association members will elect three people to the cooperative's board of directors at the 2011 HEA Annual Meeting on Thursday at Soldotna High School.

Registration for the meeting will be open from 4:30 p.m. to 6: 30 p.m., with the business meeting scheduled to start in the SoHi Auditorium at 6 p.m. HEA members who did not vote by mail can register at the annual meeting and cast their ballots during the business portion of the meeting. Members wishing to vote at the meeting must bring a photo ID with them to verify their identity.

HEA directors are elected by the members in their respective district, with members voting only for the candidates residing in their district.

This year, candidates in District 1 (Kenai-Nikiski-parts of Soldotna area) are incumbent David Thomas of Kenai and Kelly Bookey of Kenai.

In District 2 (Soldotna-Sterling-Kasilof), the only candidate is Dick Waisanen of Soldotna.

In District 3 (Kasilof south to the Kachemak Bay area), incumbent Mike Wiley of Clam Gulch and Malcolm Gaylord of Homer are on the ballot.

The winners of the election will be announced at the conclusion of the annual meeting.

This year's meeting will include a complimentary dinner and refreshments that will be served in the SoHi commons area beginning at 4:30.

There also will be several booths set up in the commons area, with information about renewable energy, weatherization and home improvement rebates from Alaska Housing Finance Corporation, safety and energy projects.

The annual meeting also will feature several attendance door prize drawings with the grand prize being a free year of electricity (up to 10,000 kilowatt hours).