Homer Alaska - Schools

Story last updated at 6:41 PM on Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Teachers honored

Debbie Piper of McNeil Canyon Elementary School and Jeffrey Szarzi of Homer Flex High School are among five Kenai Peninsula Borough teachers honored as 2011 BP Teachers of Excellence. The 16th annual BP Teachers of Excellence awards event will be held at the Kenai Convention and Visitors Bureau at 6 p.m. May 12.

Other peninsula educators recognized are John Harro of Soldotna Middle School, Sandra Kay Lewis of Kenai Central High School and Katy Turnbull of Seward Elementary School.

The BP Teachers of Excellence program recognizes teachers throughout Alaska for their dedication to teaching and inspiring students. This year, more than 1,000 nominations were received from KPB, the Matanuska-Susitna area, Fairbanks and Anchorage communities. Each teacher of excellence receives a $500 gift card and an award certificate. Schools of each teacher of excellence will receive a $500 matching gift.

One of the Kenai Peninsula teachers will be chosen as BP's teacher of the year and receive a $1,500 scholarship for continuing education and a bronze sculpture by Alaska artist Mary Regat.


  • 3482 Landings St.
  • (907) 235-7767
  •  Fax: (907) 235-6571
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback