Homer Alaska - Sports

Story last updated at 3:35 PM on Wednesday, March 21, 2012

Climbers 'HoWL' at Saturday competition

By Angelina Skowronski


Photo by McKibben Jackinsky, Homer News

Matt Cress tackles Saturday's lead climb competition.

Twenty-three rock climbers took to the Bay Club rock wall to compete in the Homer Wilderness Leaders' (HoWL) third annual Climbing Competition. Climbers in each category climbed three routes each to accumulate points.

The event helped raise money for HoWL's summer programs which introduce youth to outdoor activities and wilderness experiences such as mountaineering, kayaking, mountain biking, and rock climbing.

The event was organized by HoWL leader Libby Veasey, Bay Club climbing instructors Bill McKenna and Randy Keller, and routes were set by Ted Phelps, head route setter for Alaska Rock Gym in Anchorage.

"We were psyched to have Ted involved. This was his second year helping us and he knows a lot about climbing gyms and running competitions," said McKenna. "It gets better and better every year. We are eager to get more participants and more people involved in climbing."

This year's climbing competition raised more than $600 for scholarships and equipment. For more information on HoWL's programs, visit www.homerwildernessleaders.com

People interested in getting involved in the climbing can participate in non-member climb times at the Bay Club for $10, shoes and harness are included. Kids (up to 15 years old) climb times are Mondays 3:30-5 p.m, and Wednesdays 6-8 p.m. Adult climb times are Thursdays 6-8 p.m. A kids climbing class is also available on Mondays 5:30-7 p.m.


1 Elias Allen

2 Eli Zatz

3 Asik Wheeler

Int. Women

1 Khadicha Mukambetova

2 Sarah Wolf

3 Thea Weinstein


1 Ren Carroll

2 Quinn Alward

3 Matthew Fox

4 Oliver Beck

5 Tadgh Scholz

6 Seamus Scholz

ADV. Women

1 Lillian Connor

2 Eve Matkin


1 Eivin Kilcher

2 Hunter Bullard

3 Ben Veasey

4 Matt Cress

5 Kobi Lyon

6 David Martindell

7 Eugene Pak

8 William Connor

9 Fuzzy Mench

Lead Climb

1 Ben Veasey

2 Eivin Kilcher

3 Hunter Bullard

4 Matt Cress

5 Kobi Lyon

6 William Connor

7 Eugene Pak

8 David Martindell

9 Fuzzy Mench