Homer Alaska - Sports

Story last updated at 9:31 PM on Wednesday, March 9, 2011

Sports Briefs

Ski marathon Saturday

Three events will be featured in the 2011 Kachemak Bay Nordic Ski Marathon on Saturday. New to the marathon is a touring division, designed to encourage people who don't want to race but do want to enjoy the unique trail. The 25-kilometer tour begins at 9:30 a.m. at the Lookout Mountain Trails. The 25- and 42-km races start at 10:30 a.m. at the same location. The race ends at the Baycrest Sterling Highway trailhead. A shuttle bus to the start will depart from the Sterling Highway trailhead at 9 a.m.

Registration and bib pickup is at Lookout Mountain from 9 a.m. to 10:15 a.m. Advance registration is available online. For more information, see the 2011 marathon registration form at http://kachemaknordicskiclub.org/ or contact Marylou Burton at 235-6469.

Homer skiers tour Anchorage, B.C. courses

The Tour of Anchorage last Sunday featured 30 Homer residents, both high school aged and adult. Homer skiers brought home nine age group medals.

Jim Hurd, Jens Klaar, Ken Jones, Jasmine Maurer and Lisa Beck took first place in their age groups. Mike McCarthy and Pete Alexson took second in their age groups, while Karen Hurd and Leslie Klaar took third. Jasmine Maurer took fifth overall in the women's 25-kilometer skate race. Eric Clark, Nell Gustafson and Barb Hrenchir stood out as first-time Tour of Anchorage racers.

Another group of Homer skiers spent the weekend at the Sparkling Hill Masters World Cup in Vernon, British Columbia.

Jan Spurkland skied to third in the men's 30 kilometer skate race last Saturday. He was third overall and first of the U.S. entries in the 10-km skate race on Monday. On Wednesday, Spurkland skied the first leg on the U.S. relay team. Spurkland is vying for a berth on the National Master's Team, which will be determined by the results of a 45 km race Friday.

Kathy Sarns and Judy Steyer finished the women's 15-km skate race in 19th and 22nd last Saturday, making the top 10 U.S. racers in their 37-person start group. On Monday, Sarns came in 18th in her age group in the classical 10-km. Steyer came in 21st in the 10-km skate.

Junior Nordic ends with fun skills challenges

Last Saturday, part of the Lookout Mountain trail system became The Ohlson Obstacle course. A group of 42 Junior Nordic skiers, ages 4-13, tested their agility, balance and speed on the course, which featured challenges such as Scooter Summit (kneeling on skis and scooting with hands), Tunnel Tuck (skiing through and under a series of hoops) and Snowball Biathlon (landing tennis balls in garbage cans). A silly hat parade and cookout followed the obstacle course events. Katrina Marshall won the Best Dead Bug award; Landon Bunting won the Best Grandma's China award and Sonja Blackmon won Best Trail Manners. The day marked the culmination of cross-country ski lessons with a group of volunteer coaches. More than 80 students signed up for Junior Nordic this year.

(goes with Nordic ski brief)

2011 Tour of Anchorage

Homer Results


25-km Classical:

66. Barb Hrenchir, 3:27:35

76. Amanda Neal, 3:34:05

87. Nell Gustafson, 3:53:20

25-km Skate:

5. Jasmine Maurer, 1:35:58 (First in age group)

54. Taylor Iredale, 2:03:37

56. Madeleine Gerard, 2:03:59

75. Karen Hurd, 2:08:59 (Third in age group)

78. Marylou Burton, 2:09:30

108. Christie Gates, 2:19:06

142. Christine Anderson, 2:28:32

181. Cassady Sheffler-Brennand, 2:46:26

40-km Skate

13. Leslie Klaar, 2:28:30 (Third in age group)

78. Alison O'Hara, 3:06:35

83. Kara Bakken Clemens, 3:10:45

102. MaryAnn Ghosn, 3:26:19

50-km Skate

28. Lisa Beck, 3:30:28 (First in age group)


25-km Classical

44. Jim Hurd, 2:37:33 (First in age group)

61. Mike McCarthy, 2:55:18 (Second in age group)

25-km Skate

196. Deland Anderson, 2:28:32

209. Devin Iredale, 2:35:05

40-km Skate

18. Jens Klaar, 2:06:06 (First in age group)

92. Daniel Olson, 2:36:51

97. Bill Steyer, 2:38:55

167. Richard Burton, 2:59:10

176. Eric Clark, 3:01:49

50-km Skate

19. Pete Alexson, 2:38:56 (Second in age group)

115. David Clemens, 3:25:10

128. Ken Jones 3:29:32, (First in age group)

148. Gary Dickerson, 3:40:49

189. Paul Gutzler, 4:04:12

196. Sean Campbell, 4:08:24

Snomads events abound

The sun shone and the trail was nearly perfect for Snomads' 2011 Fun Run last Saturday, in which 119 adults and 20 riders under age 15 rode snowmachines in the Caribou Hills and enjoyed the spring weather at the Snomads' Palace.

"The last two years have been pretty bad. But this year it wasn't snowing, it wasn't cold. It was wonderful," said Snomads chairwoman Kari Arno. The event raised money for the club's trail grooming and access efforts.

Snomads invites adults and kids to an ice fishing tournament and halibut fry on Saturday at Caribou Lake. Check in begins at 9:30 a.m., the tournament begins at 10:30 a.m. A fish fry starts around noon and prizes will be awarded at 1 p.m. You don't have to catch a fish to win a prize. There will be a warming tent, hot drinks, bonfire and outhouse as well as some equipment to borrow. For more information, call Dave at 399-1775.

Ice car drivers race again

Car No. 24, driven by Joel Olsen, maintains the lead in the stock division with 343 points. The top modified car is No. 10, driven by Bob Rhinehart, with 318 points.

In the pitman stock division, Mike Brooks took the lead with a 35 point day for 273 total. Cordell Celtic earned 15 points for the day for a total of 265.

Dean Ravin maintains the lead in the pitman mod division with 257 total points. Now in second place with 227 points, Phil Celtic earned 50 points for the day to overtake Michell Drake and Jesse Lentz.

Faith Schade leads the stock powerpuff division by five points.

Sienna Rucker is second in both stock powerpuff and powerpuff mod.


HHA Mites win Round-up

Homer Hockey Association Mites D team players and coaches posed with the championship trophy from the Mite Round-up last Sunday. The tournament, held at the Kevin Bell Arena March 4-6, featured six teams of 5- to 8-year-olds. The Homer Mites won two games against Kenai teams and one against Eagle River before taking on Eagle River for the championship. Homer won 7-3 to end the season with a 18-1-1 record.