Homer Alaska - Sports

Story last updated at 7:19 PM on Wednesday, February 23, 2011

Sports in Brief

Middle school skiers race this weekend

The Kenai Peninsula Borough Middle School Nordic Ski Championships will be held Saturday at Lookout Mountain ski area. The girls skate race will begin at noon and the boys at 12:30 p.m. The girls classic race begins at 1:15 p.m. and the boys at 1:45 p.m.

There will be a mass start citizens' 1.75-kilometer skate race following the middle school races.

Surfriders Foundation chapter meeting March 2

The Alaska chapter of the Surfrider Foundation will meet at 7-9 p.m. on March 2 at Captain's Coffee. The meeting will be an chance for new members to sign up, meet others and discuss possible projects that will connect the Alaska surfing community and promote active and responsible use of the coastline. For more information, call Scott Dickerson at 399-SURF (7873).

Snow machine events to raise funds, fun

Way Out Women (W.O.W) Ride 2011 will be held Saturday. W.O.W. is a fun ride and fundraiser for cancer patients on the Kenai Peninsula. The event starts at 9 a.m. at Clam Shell Lodge in Clam Gulch. Registration packets are available at www.cpgh.org. For more information, contact Kathy Lopeman at (907) 283-7602, (907)398-4853 or e-mail kath@alaska.net. The Snomads 2011 Fun Run will be held March 5. Registration begins at McNeil Canyon School at 8 a.m. The Fun Run is a day of riding in the Caribou Lake area and raffle drawing event at the Snomads Palace. For more information, contact Kari Arno at 399-4014 or arnocon@xyz.net.

Best Western wins city basketball tournament

The Best Western Rip Tide defeated the Coal Point Miners 58-41 in the City of Homer Community Recreation basketball championship game Monday.

Team K-12/Educators finished third despite losing in the first round. The team rallied to defeat the Bullet Proof Nets in a rematch and pulled off an upset victory over ABI.

Players voted Eric Roozboom of the ABI team as the league's most valuable player. Sportsmanship awards went to Kirk Cortez, Coal Point; Zach Zimny, K-12/Educators; Jake Ketelle, Bullet Proof Nets; Phil Jones, Smooth Operators; Corey Kruse, Best Western; Keith Edens, Gamers; and Erik Ronnegard, ABI.

Six Homer skiers compete in 30-km Anchorage race

Homer Nordic skiing was well-represented by three men and three women at the challenging 30-kilometer Sven Johansson freestyle race at Kincaid Park in Anchorage last Sunday.

Part of the AMH Anchorage Cup series, the race also is known as the Tour of Kincaid on account of its distance and numerous hill features.

"When you get to kilometer 27 you get really excited because you are almost done and then you come to this giant hill. It feels like you are in an IMAX theater with a hill wrapping all around you and you have to ski to the top of the screen," said race participant Megan Spurkland.

To increase the challenge, new snow and temperatures in the teens made parts of the trail soft and deep.

Still, Jan Spurkland took 21st in the 138-competitor men's event, skiing the course in 1 hour, 35 minutes and 28 seconds. Ken Jones took 95th in 2:06:02.6 and Paul Gutzler took 123rd in 2:29:09.0.

In the women's 30-km, Jasmine Maurer took 8th place in 1:56:32.5 and Megan Spurkland took 19th in 2:17:16.4. Leslie Klaar skied to ninth place in the women's 10-km in 41 minutes, 8.8 seconds.

Huskies send 10 to Boroughs, win 7

A 10-member Homer Middle School wrestling team brought home seven medals from the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District Wrestling Tournament in Seward last Saturday. Medals were presented to the top four placers in each weight class.

"The day was full of excellent wrestling from all competitors," said Homer Head Coach Chris Perk.

Eighth grader Danny Rios, 155 pounds, and seventh grader Cody Macy, 110, each won two matches and took second place in their weight classes. Seventh grader Jadzia Martin also placed second in her 90-pound weight class.

Seventh grader Kyle Johnson, 115, won three matches. He scored a take-down against the eventual borough champion and lead most of the match until he got caught and pinned.

Three other Huskies, seventh grader Jimmy Kraszeski, 95; eighth grader Austin McGregor, 105; and eighth grader Antonio Ochoa, 138, ended the season in fourth place.

Eighth graders Collin MacCampbell, 100, and Chris Peterson, 138, made good improvements this year and finished with close loses at the tournament. Seventh grader Marshall Fuller, 125, also participated in the tournament.

Perk said the Huskies were in very good shape, thanks to the committed effort of Assistant Coach Dan Rios, the "conditioning general."

Many of the wrestlers will continue with the Popeye or Anchor King Wrestling Clubs for the freestyle season. The first freestyle meet will start at 10 a.m. on Saturday at Homer High School.

Bantams win Anchorage tournament

The Homer Hockey Association Bantam team placed first at the Presidents Day Invitational tournament in Anchorage over the weekend. Homer beat the Mat-Su Eagles 7-0 in the opening game Saturday morning and then tied the Fairbanks Phantoms 3-3 that evening. On Sunday morning, Homer beat the Anchorage Comets 1-0, which advanced them to the semi-finals. Homer easily defeated the Kenai Ice Hawks 7-0 and then faced Fairbanks again for the championship. Homer scored first and never let Fairbanks get any offense going; they went on to win the game 3-1 and the tournament undefeated.

Players on the Bantam team are Ulian Kuzmin, Anton Kuzmin, Konstontin Reutov, Owen Delahanty, Mavrick Ivanov, Misael Martushev, Clem Tillion, Thomas Bowe, Drew Brown, Kiril Sanarov, Dawson Roberts, JJ Sonnen and Markian Polushkin.

Leaders stay their course in ice car racing

Latest race results

The fifth race of Homer Racing Association's ice racing series on Beluga Lake was held Sunday. All of last week's leaders retained their positions.

Cordell Celtic leads the Pitman stock class with 203 points. Mike Brooks is second in the class with 200.

Sienna Rucker leads the Stock Powderpuff class with 160 points and Faith Schade is second with143.

Dean Ravin leads the Pitman modified class with 210 points. The Powderpuff modified class is led by Michelle Drake with 140 points and Sienna Rucker with 131.

Stock car no. 24 added 47 points for the day for 239 points total.

Car no. 10 leads the Modified class, with a total of 227 points and 52 for the day.

Full results are available online.