Homer Alaska - Arts

Story last updated at 6:30 PM on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Conference registration starts

Registration has opened for the 11th Kachemak Bay Writers' Conference, to be held June 8-12 at Land's End Resort with keynote speaker and National Book Award winning writer Barry Lopez. Sponsored by the Kachemak Bay Campus of Kenai Peninsula College-University of Alaska Anchorage, the conference also features 17 other award-winning, nationally-recognized authors, editors and agents who will conduct creative writing workshops, readings, craft talks and panel presentations in fiction, nonfiction, poetry and the business of writing. Faculty are Elizabeth Dodd, Camille Dungy, James Engelhardt, Daryl Farmer, Debra Gwartney, Valerie Miner, Dan O'Neill, Ann Pancake, Don Rearden, Jim Rutman, Eva Saulitis, Jeffrey Shotts, Sherry Simpson, Nancy Lord, Alaska State Writer Laureate Peggy Shumaker, and Amber Flora Thomas. Readings by writers and poets are June 9-12 are free and open to the public.

The early registration fee is $350, space available. Advanced registration is required. For program and registration information, visit the conference website at writersconference.homer.alaska.edu.


  • 3482 Landings St.
  • (907) 235-7767
  •  Fax: (907) 235-6571
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback