Homer Alaska - Arts

Story last updated at 5:34 PM on Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Reason to smile


Photo by Michael Armstrong

The Homer Council on the Arts presented its arts awards last Friday at its annual meeting. In the photo left, members of Rufaro Marimba accept the Youth Artist of the Year award. One of Homer's marimba groups and the only youth ensemble, Rufaro was honored for its commitment to the arts, its craft and the community. From left to right are Jonas Noomah, Axel Gillam, Brandon Beachy, Paul Trowbridge, Patrick Latimer and John Shank. Band member Drew Turner was not able to make the awards ceremony.

Also honored were the late Diana Tillion, Arts Lifetime Achievement; the Homer Bookstore, Business Arts Patron; Cherish Bee McCallum, Arts Education Advocate; the Pratt Museum, Arts Leadership and Advocacy, and Ron Senungetuk, Artist of the Year.


  • 3482 Landings St.
  • (907) 235-7767
  •  Fax: (907) 235-6571
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback