Homer gets 11 cruise ship visits this summer

The M/S Amsterdam returns to Homer this summer for nine visits, one of three ships to call on town at the Deep Water Dock on the Homer Spit. The Silversea cruise ship M/S Silver Shadow makes the first cruise ship visit of the season, arriving about 8 a.m. May 17 on its transit from Tokyo, Japan, to Seward. At about 8 a.m. May 24, the Hapag-Lloyd cruise ship M/S Europa calls on Homer on a Vancouver, B.C., Canada round-trip tour. Those will be the only visits of the Silver Shadow and Europa.

Starting May 30, the Amsterdam begins its schedule of visiting the second and fourth Tuesdays of every month. The Holland American cruise ships visits from 10 a.m.-4 p.m. every other Tuesday through Sept. 19. The Amsterdam stops in Homer as part of a 14-day cruise of Alaska and British Columbia.

The Silversea cruise runs 14 days, leaving Tokyo on May 4, visiting Japan, Petropavlovsk in Russia, and Dutch Harbor, Kodiak, Homer and Seward in Alaska. Fares start at $5,500 a person.

The Europa cruise runs 19 days up the Inside Passage from Vancouver through Ketchikan, Wrangell, Juneau, Skagway, Homer and Kodiak, and back to Vancouver through Victoria, B.C. Fares start at $12,830 for a luxury suite.

The Amsterdam’s Great Alaskan Explorer cruise runs 14 days from Seattle through Victoria, Ketchikan, Juneau, Anchorage, Homer and Kodiak, visiting Sitka on its return trip. Fares start at $1,140 per person, not including taxes and fees.

Homer Summer 2017 Cruise Ship Schedule

8 a.m. Wednesday, May 17: M/S Silver Shadow

8 a.m. Wednesday, May 24: M/S Europa

10 a.m. Tuesday, May 30: M/S Amsterdam

10 a.m. Tuesday, June 13: M/S Amsterdam

10 a.m. Tuesday, June 27: M/S Amsterdam

10 a.m. Tuesday, July 11: M/S Amsterdam

10 a.m. Tuesday, July 25: M/S Amsterdam

10 a.m. Tuesday, Aug. 8: M/S Amsterdam

10 a.m. Tuesday, Aug. 22: M/S Amsterdam

10 a.m. Tuesday, Sept. 5: M/S Amsterdam

10 a.m. Tuesday, Sept. 19: M/S Amsterdam

Comments

A Facebook login using a real name is required for commenting. Respectful and constructive comments are welcomed. Abusers will be blocked and reported to Facebook.